The (Very Un-Official) Guide to Understanding Consciousness

7

March 11, 2015 by The Girl Made of Words

The Unofficial Guide to Consciousness

This is quite a long read and isn’t necessarily meant to be ingested all in one sitting. I suggest you poke around a bit and see what catches your eye (or mind, or heart). I’m also going to include some videos that I have found on consciousness that are a great starting point for anyone who would like to know more about this vast subject. I hope to add to this writing and to have this as a place where I can begin to catalog the different sources that are proving to be insightful and helpful along the way. I hope this will help you think about yourself and the world in a new way if nothing else. Above all else though, this really is a journal entry for myself to come back to when I need to find myself again. Please don’t take anything I say as scientific fact.

.

Alright. All disclaimers aside: This is consciousness as I see it today. Read, set…Enjoy!

.

Order of Consciousness 3.

Consciousness keeps coming back as this keyword I can’t seem to let go of.

.

What is consciousness? What’s the point of being aware of our own existence beyond that of a reactionary being? How does the study of consciousness help us evolve past the barriers of the physical world we currently live in to better aid in our survival as a species?

.
These are the questions I keep seeing again and again throughout the science talks I’ve been listening to lately and I’d like to share some of the information I’ve gathered and try and express it in the simplest terms possible because when we break things down to their simplest form, I believe we are also finding truth in it’s purest form.

.
So to go back to the evolutionary standpoint, I think it really centers around the idea that if we were still having to use all of our brain power to avoid near and certain death, we likely wouldn’t ever have the opportunity to express ourselves creatively. That is, in a way that differs from the norm.  We no longer have to operate as sheer survivalists. We will always carry those instincts inside of us, but we can operate on a system beyond the reproduction scale if we allow ourselves to part the curtains of reality just a tiny bit.

.
I’ve said it before and I’m still not done celebrating it: When I look into (that word is not a typo) a painting, I get to see the world not just through someone else’s eyes, but also through their mind. My mind may pick up on certain features of my universe, while someone else’s brain may choose to focus on other aspects. For instance, when I see an ocean, I see the words: vast, and limitless, and possibility. While someone else may see colors: blissful blue, serene green, and a sweeping stroke of sweet caramel sand.
.
We are the snowflakes of the world, every one of us, and it has very little to do with the way we look and everything to do with the way we look out at the world.

.
So I guess the next question I would ask myself is: Where does our personality come from? How does our vision of the outside world arise?

.
Again, I’m not an expert on consciousness. I have not a degree in neuroscience or philosophy, but rather I hold something which I consider to be much more valuable: a hunger for knowledge and truth.

.
Today, I’m exploring consciousness not to try and explain the nature of the world, but to better understand the nature of my own spirit based upon the principals of science that I have been feeding my brain a steady diet of over the past few months. Here is what I have come up with, but it is most certainly a work in progress that I fully expect to evolve as I do.

The Three Stages of Consciousness

The Waking Consciousness

This is the consciousness that we each have a regular and ongoing relationship with.

.
You know that nagging voice in your head that is always chewing at your mind with an endless string of questions about your past, present (if you’re practiced enough to achieve this state, well done.), and your fears about the future? Well, that’s the first level of consciousness. It’s kind of like your mind’s default state for those who wish to experience life from a first person point of view. This looks something like: “I am so angry.” Vs. The more spiritual model of “This experience is inspiring feelings of anger inside of me. Why?” The second inner dialog is that of the second state of consciousness that I will talk about further down this write. The idea is that the level of consciousness that we are all as a species pretty familiar and comfortable with is actually only the first level of consciousness and self awareness.

.
We use this platform to observe and interact with the world around us.

.
So one might ask why we have this level of consciousness and why would we not just come preprogrammed with this deeper level of understanding from the start? I have a couple of theories about this, but I don’t want to pin point this down to just one way of looking at it. This is only my current understanding of it:

.
If we take the stance that we are the Unified Field (or the deepest level of universal knowledge and consciousness) interacting with itself, I’m thinking that maybe the reason quantum theory and string theory and all of these attempts to connect the universe keep getting more difficult to understand as we break them down further, is maybe as our awareness of this God force grows, so does his complexity grow further still. We are adding our pools of knowledge to the light source (the collective vibrational field) with every quantum leap of thought we encounter as we approach that level of ultimate understanding.

.
I know it feels like I’m skipping ahead here, but I have to move past this level of consciousness to make sense of this level.

.
This level of understanding that we possess right from the start, we come pre-programmed with a bank of collective information passed down from everyone that came before us, it grows with every passing generation. When we reproduce we are doing more than passing down our physical genetic codes, we are also passing along vital information that will serve to help us advance as a species.

.
I don’t think the Unified Field is one bank of knowledge. I think it is growing and expanding in quantum leaps and bounds as our understanding and realization of this phenomenon grows, so do the waves of possibility begin to not collapse, but expand before us.

.
Not everyone is ready to lose this concrete level of existence. I get it. When I first began to open my mind to a figure of God that also incorporated scientific theory and mathematical laws, my previous understanding of the world began to crumble all around me. It was terrifying. I don’t recommend the speed cycle of enlightenment. It can be achieved, but unless it is done incrementally, you run the risk of loosing all ability to live inside of the collective or shared physical reality. That may sound neat to those of you who enjoy movies like Avatar or the Matrix, but imagine being Neo, here, in this world. In this reality. It’s a scary threshold to cross over.

.
Am I saying that our physical reality isn’t real? Absolutely not. I’m saying that the physical reality we live in is an incredible and mysterious place. I am deeply fascinated by nature and physical science, but what I am saying is, there is more out there than just this physical dimension. There is a spiritual realm that exists all around us and within us and the first stage to being able to find that pool of understanding is recognizing where you are on the consciousness ladder.

.
Are you lost beneath a constant cloud of fear and self consciousness and doubt? Does your brain never seem to quiet down? Do you frequently find yourself obsessing over your past or worrying about your future in negative and sometimes even destructive ways?

.
Then, you’re probably still in the midst of the first level of consciousness. That’s not a bad thing, it’s a starting place. This is where everyone’s journey begins so don’t feel like this is some kind of insurmountable diagnosis. The cure for this way of looking at the world is coming. Read on.

.
Are you just beginning to think more about what it means to know yourself? Do you find yourself becoming more and more sensitive to things that you never seemed to notice before? Are people often strongly drawn to or repelled by your personality because it seems to be much more intense than those around you?

.
Then your mind is probably spending a considerable amount of time in your personal subconscious space. This is as deep as may people choose to go along the path to self discovery. That does not mean that they never achieved a complete and full level of consciousness in my mind, I see it more as being the end of that soul’s journey during this present life cycle.

.

Funny how I keep coming back to the Eastern religious tendencies more and more as I dive deeper into the realms of higher levels of consciousness and a wider angle of understanding from what I was exposed to in my own Western religious background. I don’t know if that means one is ‘more right’ than the other, but I do think it means that this is the way of thinking and understanding the world that makes the most sense to me right now. Thus, if you couldn’t already tell, I strongly identify with this level of being right now.

.
Are you a highly creative type that has trouble relating to the general population? Do you feel like you see the world through eyes no one else could possibly understand? Do you feel music, or colors, or numbers in a way that doesn’t quite make sense?

.
Then I would be willing to bet that your mind is spending some serious time tapping into the collective un-conscious. This is also what I consider the Unified Field to represent in scientific terms. I see it as the all consuming, powerful, and knowing God force that many spiritual traditions seem to connect with in their individual practices. But it’s also something deeper than that. It’s personal. It’s made up of the fabric of us.

.

When we hear someone else’s story we are able to experience it as our own reality for just a little while through the archetypal pillars that Jung discussed are sort of pre-programmed into all of us on a level that is deeply embedded into our individual sub-conscious spaces. This is what allows us to relate and connect to others on a level that transcends physical or mortal understanding. This is where the pools of creativity seem to spring up from when someone is able to come up with a thought that no one else in the history of man kind has ever expressed in quite the same way. Science is beginning to explore the idea of quantum leaps of consciousness and as I said before, I believe as our understanding of this phenomenon grows and is more widely recognized, I see this Field of Consciousness expanding in more and more complex and mysterious directions. Our journey into this frontier as a species is only just beginning.

.

This is where our personality and short term information is housed. Our surface likes and dislikes can be easily accessed within this realm of consciousness without much effort.
.
I believe this level of consciousness probably requires the least energy consumption possible on a physical level. That is why it is our default setting, but once you begin to separate yourself from this human-sounding voice inside your head, you can begin to peel back the layers of yourself in much more profound ways. But before we go there. Let’s look at how this level is constructed in the first place.

.
I like using the computer analogy when talking about our brains because they are very similar to an internal super computer in many ways. But in this first level of consciousness, our model hasn’t been upgraded in about 50 years, give or take a few decades. We are all operating on old (and very much outdated) software. If you think of tapping into the Unified Field (of consciousness or spiritual understanding) as being able to have access to the internet and get instant automatic updates around the clock; this first level of understanding is not even close to being capable of accepting that type of constant information stream.

.
So, what do our brains do at this level to cope? They use the information we feed them everyday to create a life sized depiction of the world our sub-conscious mind (on the next level down) is creating for us in every moment based on all of our past experiences and projections of future outcomes that are also based on that knowledge.

.

That’s basically saying that without a level of conscious awareness that goes beyond the endless mind chatter and the constant need to ‘fix’ oneself, there is a command center that we have the power to control by feeding it a steady diet of thought provoking information that cultivates a spirit of curiosity and helps you move further into the depths of the spiritual journey that exists inside of each one of us.

.
Mine is taking a very spiritual and scientific shape, while others might find a door to move beyond the physical world through a passion in literature, or the arts, or cosmology.

.
This first level of awareness is a base model platform we have built for ourselves over the course of our lives. It is reactionary to the point of looking like it is an automatic behavior, but if you peel back the layers of your mind, you will see that you have the power to control these seemingly hidden processes through things like ritual and repetition. I have found repetition to be the strongest weapon against faulty pre-programming from an outside source. If you want to rewrite the internal script of your mind, you have to first be willing to recognize that the voice you are hearing now (although it sounds a lot like you at times) is not you. It is a voice over projection from your personal unconscious, one that is still operating off of a user manual that was written so long ago it is no longer useful or even completely relevant to the world we are quickly moving into that will have to take on a more dualistic approach to the idea of self.
.
The Personal Sub-Consciousness
.
This is the consciousness that runs all of our ‘background’ systems (breathing, circulating blood, etc.).
.
Okay, so the personal sub-conscious controls much more than those automatic systems. It is also responsible for generating entire worlds with their own sets of physical laws that seem to only be loosely based on our physical understanding of the world we live in everyday, while we slumber each night into our own version of the sub-conscious space. This is different and unique to each person. I don’t think any two people (this can be logically proven just by looking at twins who share identical DNA structures and many times an almost identical upbringing, who strongly diverge in thought and behavior patterns and even world views) can ever have a completely identical sub-conscious space. They can be very similar, and then I think the potential for some type of quantum entanglement is possible on a level that is way beyond anything we are currently able to really imagine, but I think a lot of the current theories of quantum science seem to be moving in that general direction in their thinking and implications.

.
This level is what I consider to be the bridge between or physical Earthly consciousness and the Unified Field of consciousness that always seems to be forming at a rate that is always just a little bit faster than what we are about to understand on our level. Can anyone say, Event Horizon? I think once we as a species begin to cross the threshold into this level of awareness on a global scale we will be reaching the metaphorical singularity into the understanding of infinity, which I gained a glimmer of an understanding of from watching the talks I will be attaching below as scientific and spiritual supplements to this limited understanding of mine.

.
Peter Russell has been really inspiring some incredible thoughts about the nature of consciousness in my mind lately, (as well as Amit Goswami, and many more which I am in the process of discovering every day). In the talk below labeled The Great Awakening he tells a story of us being likened to neurons in the physical brain of the universe. As if our Earth were it’s own self regulating organism and we are acting as the neurons that relate information back to our host planet through our own individual and collective consciousness’. Do I believe that is literally what is happening? That we are, in fact, an attempt on behalf of the Unified Field to interact with and understand itself? Maybe, but I think there’s more to it than that. I think it’s more than just becoming aware of something. I think it takes that quantum leap and when we become aware of something, that is when it can also physically manifest and begin the process of unfolding once again in more and more complex ways and directions.

.
Getting comfortable inside of this kind of self-replicating paradigm is the first step to evolving and transcending past this level and crossing over into the highest levels or frequencies of consciousness that must be reached through intense meditation and clearing of the mind.

.
We use this platform to assign meaning to our world, to store memories and long-term information. It is also where we intuitively go to process powerful emotions and to make deep personal connections with others.

.
I see this level of consciousness as the place that many of us intuitively retreat to when we experience physical or emotional trauma in our physical reality. It is the safe haven that exists inside of all of us. For some people this can be a quite retreat, while for others this can take the shape of a nightmare (which is just a more deeply embedded level of distraction, or a thicker curtain that hangs between the conscious first person waking mind and the second level of personal unconscious). I can only speak from personal experience, but before I had this spiritual awakening, my mind had a go-to inner place of darkness and chaos. I was mentally and emotionally destroying myself on the inside to draw my conscious attention away from any destruction that was taking place inside of the physical outside world.

.
Once I began to practice meditation (my own brand of meditation, which may be quite different from the traditional way of practicing this art) I began to quiet the noise in my brain my refusing to engage with it. I visualized it as a pop up window on my computer screen and began to try and keep a quite focus on what themes kept popping up in my mind (’am I good enough?’ has always been my primary go to). I started listening to that voice and hearing it as the voice of a child living deep inside of myself rather than my own adult like voice. I had compassion for myself and my need to feel like I am important and worthy of love. Once I stopped trying to fix myself and instead began the work of accepting and loving myself, the voice inside my brain began to take a back seat to this deeply powerful level of consciousness that centers around more than my own personal ego, and instead takes on a more community type of view.

.
This is also the information hub of our consciousness. If you’ve ever pictured the elves that have to sort through the mail at Christmas time on Santa’s behalf, you’ve got a tiny faction of a glimpse into the life of your subconscious mind. Much of the job of our personal subconscious focuses on processing, sorting and organizing, and storing information. How your own individual brain does that is unique to you. Mine is quite sloppy and inefficient when it comes to information recall, but I am pretty good at processing great quantities of information in the present moment. It’s just, if I don’t write them down, they are generally lost to me after that present moment has passed. That is why I listen to any talks that inspire me intellectually or spiritually at least three times (more if it contains a lot of new information). Repetition is what allows my brain the time to take bits of information from each viewing and then slowly, over the course of several subsequent viewings, my subconscious is able to put all of those pieces together to form a new block of information that feels like an epiphany, or an ‘aha!’ moment where everything just seems to click together.

.
This would be the equivalent to our very first tries at internet in our now very outdated, but I’m sure you all remember how cool it was at first, the dial up version first made widely popular by AOL. I can still hear the sound now. All of those beeps and screeches as it started the process of connecting to what was essentially only a very small bank of information. But I’m still relatively young and already the internet has expanded our information gathering and sharing capabilities beyond what anyone outside of the minds of the most forward thinking among us ever could have imagined. And it’s not done yet. We are in the midst of a powerful technological momentum that is creating a series of ripples across our species that can never be undone. We are living in an age of the spiritual enlightenment like never before.

.
Isn’t that exciting to think about? It certainly is for me.

.
This is where our deepest fears and desires are housed. It influences our surface decisions in ways that can require more probing (introspection) to unlock.
.
I’ve already discussed a lot of what I think this platform of consciousness is used for, but here I want to talk a little more about how to work within this platform to uncover your truest version of self.

.
When I talk about meditation I take a lot of similar approaches to what Peter Russell describes in his talk below. I don’t use that time to focus my attention on any one thing or thought pattern (I consider that to be the act of prayer), I instead use my consciousness to become aware of myself in a way that extends beyond the first person narrative. I do this by being very conscious of the noise and chatter inside of my mind. I try and quiet the noise if I can by becoming more and more still.

.

Sometimes music will help (the Liquid Mind series is proving to be very effective at the moment) or even taking a bath with all of the curtains drawn and a single candle lit. When I block out all of the light, it is easier to lessen outside physical distractions. The warmth of the water also helps me to really relax on a deeper level as well. It takes me away from my normal state of consciousness that I need to use when interacting with others or trying to complete some task. Inside of that space I am free to simply be and exist. It is not a time for thinking or processing emotions. I am quiet, still, and open to receiving the stream of understanding that comes when I reach a state that I am starting to believe is a signal or some kind of deeper internal connection with the Collective Unified Field of Consciousness. I can’t say for sure that is what is happening because honestly, I hardly have any understanding of what that even means at this point in time, but it is certainly giving me access to something beyond what I find when I let myself out of the confines of consciousness that is grounded only in the physical world and reality.

.
This is something that takes practice and I am learning more about how my brain likes to access this space more and more each day. I am creating a sort of internal map to the greater external unconscious that exists beyond my own mortal levels of understanding.

.
The Universal/Collective Unconscious (Could also be called the Unified Field)

.
This is the consciousness that runs through all of us and is made up of archetypal universal truths and wisdom.

.
I see this as being not a person (like God) that represents (in my mind) one static bank of perfect understanding, but more of a bank that we each contribute to with our thoughts. I believe this level of consciousness is what helps to shape the physical laws that govern our universe and that is why they are also deeply linked to our own personal sub-conscious manifestations of reality in the ways we are able to access this state of awareness. For instance, some might find their connection to deep archetypal truths trough written word, while others may find it more easily through paintings, or visual arts. Some may find it in a culinary rhythm, while others still may access a stream of the collective unconscious through mathematics, social connections, or medical sciences. It’s all up to the individual that goes forth into that swirling vortex of information, what they will find and emerge with when they enter back into the human, physical existence.
.
We use this platform to assign meaning to the greater outside world. It can be found in the arts through paintings, music, sculpture, written and spoken word, and even science and mathematics.
.
I just made that point above, so I’ll take this opportunity to explore the reasons why I believe we should aspire to reaching this level of awareness as a species on a more wide-spread universal level. I keep referencing Peter Russell in this write, but it’s because he is someone who has expressed thoughts about this phenomenon that seem to really shake and ground me. We are entering into previously unexplored domains within our current level of consumption and demand on nonrenewable resources from our host planet. I know that I am not alone in wanting to find a way out of the mess we are creating for ourselves everyday as we become more and more externally and materially motivated. We have to begin the work of shifting the focus from trying to fulfill our inner desires by consuming more on the outside (through distractions like: social media, dieting fads, political trends, and this universal need to fix that thing inside of ourselves that feels somehow broken or just not enough) to trying to reverse the cycle and instead direct our focus inward.

.
When we realize that it’s our personal subconscious calling the shots, we can start to begin the work of redirecting that flow of energy to better and more meaningful layers of awareness. This is how we will can fight the system of over consumption and under appreciation that is becoming more and more rampant across our globe. If we want to keep this planet alive and healthy, we have to start looking at it with new eyes. Do we want to be a cancer to our host planet and destroy the only thing keeping us afloat within the cosmos? Until we learn how to stop abusing our resources, we are becoming a virus that will keep inhabiting and draining planets across the galaxy, never realizing that there is a black hole living inside each of us that will destroy everything it come in contact with.

.
I prefer to go the white hole route that Russell describes in his personal account of the great global awakening. See below for more information.
.
This field lies beyond our current mortal understanding. It can be reached through intense meditation and practiced clearing of the mind.

.
Growing up most of us are taught a set of basic scientific principals and they are explained as if we have all of the answers we need to explain and understand the nature of our universe, but this is only a half truth. Those are just a collections of observations we have made to try and understand what is going on so far. We may know how a lot of systems work, but we are only just now beginning to scratch the surface of the why behind all of those phenomenons.

.
Until we begin to get comfortable with the idea that we do not hold all of the answers, and we instead begin to take on the role of a student within the universe, we will never be able to find the answers that are waiting for us inside that collective bundle of knowledge.
.
Once we are small, the universe can become big again. Once we let go of the things we think we know, we can begin the process of understanding the true nature of our reality.
.
This is where epiphanies ultimately spring from, where non-local communication is made possible, and where the river of creativity runs wild.

.
From everything I’m learning about the study of quantum mechanics and quantum field theory, the more I can begin to apply those ways of approaching the universe (as waves of possibility rather than a static concrete system of being). Suddenly acts that we would look at as miracles in the spiritual world, or anomalies in the scientific world as they seem to go against every past understanding of the laws that govern our universe (as in non-local or signal-less communication that we currently associate with mystical or ESP practices).

.
As we go further down the chain of consciousness and are able to tap into higher frequencies, we can finally begin the work of flowing back and forth within that realm of higher understanding. I don’t believe our generation is meant to know this field directly, but maybe we are meant to bridge the gap between this physical realm and what we all think of now as the ‘spiritual’ world of ultimate peace and compassion and timeless understanding, which many other religious traditions refer to as enlightenment, or nirvana.

.
The more, we as individuals become in tune with this inner landscape of infinite love and possibility,  the more we will exude it outward and as light always conquers the darkness, what was once unknown and unreachable becomes possible. When we stop investing ourselves into the physical, mortal, human existence, we can become truly spiritual beings that are able to take on all of the fullness of the God force.
.

Order of Consciousness 3.

In summary:
.
If you look at my (very crude and elementary) depiction of consciousness, you will see that I have likened the first stage of consciousness to the exposed tip of the iceberg. This is what someone living within that same concrete, surface world will see when they try and define you. They are not yet able to see and process the magnitude of what lives beneath the surface of themselves yet (some people never are and that’s okay), so until they can see themselves as being more than the tip of that iceberg, they will not be able to see anything that exists beneath the glassy divide between them.

.
As for our personal subconscious, I described that as being our own personal collection of that inner vast spiritual space. It is not the same as the water that flows around it, yet it has access to that water, and it has the potential to convert passing bits of that flowing current into a piece of our own inner collective consciousness. But to be human, is to be too small to take in the magnitude of all of the sea of information that surrounds us.

.
In this way, all of the sea would be the force that the religious call God, which is what science might call the Unified Field, and what the spiritual would call enlightenment. My theories have been heavily shaped by a lot of Eastern traditions lately. When they reach a state of pure and true inner peace during mediation they call it something but I can’t remember (or seem to find on google right now) the name. It’s something like sumati? Peter Russell explains it in the video in a much better way than I can express in this moment. But he talks about how when these highly practiced individuals die, they are entering the Great Sumati (sp?). As if that is the moment when their entire iceberg of consciousness melts and becomes a part of the flowing sea of knowledge. In that way, we would know God because we would be One with him completely.

.
So during prayer, when I used to get still and quiet and feel like I was connecting with God, if I use this model of consciousness to understand the relationship; as long as I held the intention to connect with that force and cleared away all other thoughts and instead of projecting my thoughts outward into the universe, if I instead became a receiver of information and understanding: I do see now, why that act was always so powerful to me growing up. I was connecting with the collective stream of every conscious being that came before me. That is growing in complexity and vastness every day as we come to know and understand it better.

.
When we as a species, begin to move more and more into the vastness that lives within ourselves, we will be one step closer to knowing the expanding ever lasting God. Awareness leads to actuality over time. It’s all about shifting our inner perspectives and dialogs.

.
It’s about changing the voice inside our heads from a personal narrator: “I wonder if she likes me.”, “I can’t believe he did that to me!” to another larger scale view of self: “What is this experience meant to teach me?”, “How will this moment grow and expand my soul/consciousness?”

.
And then over time I see us going to a much greater place of one-ness, and it will get bigger and bigger with time. God only grows. He doesn’t shrink and he is ever evolving.

.

I just want to know him better.

.

Every. Way. I. Can.

.

.

.

On-Going Consciousness Video Catalog:

.

This is a good starting place for those who don’t mind spending a little money (it’s $1.99 to rent it from Amazon and $10.95 to buy it…and watch it again and again like I do…lol) to have this all spelled out for you without having to spend a great deal of time learning all of the scientific theory behind the connection between Spirituality and Science, but you can skip ahead to the free YouTube videos if you prefer too. Up to you:

The Tao of Quantum Physics (1hr. 17 mins.)

.

For those coming from a more spiritual standpoint, but not necessarily a religious one, I recommend a steady diet of Peter Russell (who also just so happens to be a remarkable scientist as well). I’ll list them from the more spiritual interviews/talks to ones that get more scientific as I find them.

The Great Awakening: (54 mins.)

The Reality of Consciousness: (38 mins.)

.

Another great mind who is actively working to bridge the gap between the worlds of science and spirituality is Dr. Amit Goswami. He is the face of what he calls the Quantum Activist Movement and provides a scientific base that almost every spiritual and religious phenomenon we have come to associate only with the non-science community can rest inside of. Dr. Goswami believes that quantum physics is the next way we will be able to explore and more fully know this God force (which he refers to as Downward Causation).

.

Before you watch his videos, I want to clarify some of the terms he uses because they can take some adjustment in perspective to understand them initially (it wasn’t until the third or fourth viewing that I began to feel comfortable with the concept of upward and downward causation and non-local communication and such.)

.

So, here’s a quick breakdown:

.

Upward Causation: This is traditionally thought of as the view of modern science. It states that matter evolves and gets more complex over time because it builds upon itself. Gasses evolve into atoms which eventually evolve into solid matter. What this theory doesn’t explain is how that can shift from creating matter to creating a non-material thing like consciousness. There is no connection between the two.

Downward Causation: This would traditionally be thought of as the viewpoint taken from religious or spiritual mystics. It states that matter arises from a non-material spiritual entity that we cannot access within our physical dimension. What this theory fails to explain is how a non-material thing like consciousness can create something as material as matter. There is no direct connection between the two.

Duality: In the world of quantum physics (which currently only extends to impossibly small sub atomic particles), these small building blocks of the universe are able to operate as either a solid material object, or as a non-material wave pattern. This is, astonishingly, only differentiated based on our own inner perception of that particle. Dr. Goswami looks to try and make a connection from those seemingly small scale experiments and use the findings to make large scale impacts on our everyday reality.

Non-Local or Signal-less Communication: This is referring to things like ESP, where information is able to travel over great distances with no observable signal being passed between the two. This can be seen in the quantum world when particales become entangled with each other and are able to be separated for an unlimited geographical distance, while still being able to relay information to each other in what to us seems like an instant (with no passage of time). There have also been experiments performed (which he discusses in several of the videos I’ve watched of him) where two individuals are able to relay information while engaged in an intense state of meditation. This suggest that we may operate more within the laws of quantum physics than we previously thought.

.

Dr. Goswami speaks about his Near Death Experience which is what first led him to explore consciousness:

Present (Part One) Quantum Physics and God: (24 mins.)

Present (Part Two) Quantum Physics and God: (23 mins.)

Present (Part Three) Quantum Physics and God: (25 mins.)

.

This is an interview he did with ConsciousTV (if you don’t already subscribe to their YouTube channel, I strongly suggest you do. They have some extraordinary minds on that program).

Consciousness, Quantum Physics, and Being Human: (1 hr.)

.

This is another interview he did with a group called: Legalise Freedom (they aren’t a politically minded affiliation, of course).

Quantum Consciousness: The Mind of God (1 hr. 15 mins.)

.

For the more scientific minds, here is a wonderful lecture by John Hagelin who will open your mind to the science of quantum, string, and the unified field theory and discuss how we can begin to use these theories to better explore and explain our ever expanding universe:

Entanglement, Space-Time Wormholes, and the Brain: (46 mins.)

.

Other Quantum Theory Documentaries:

 

7 thoughts on “The (Very Un-Official) Guide to Understanding Consciousness

  1. Noel says:

    Great post! Very informative and thought provoking. I would answer “yes” to most of the questions you ask the readers here. I have also been leaning towards oriental thinking lately, such as mindfulness and emptiness. I did not view the videos, but will certainly do so soon. I am intrigued by how much growth you seem to have experienced. I applaud you for such a profound and powerful description of consciousness. The state of being aware of the “self’ has also been a mystery to me. But I also question, does the self actually exist as an independent entity? Am I not a part of a bigger consciousness? Maybe I am like a cell , among millions of cells, that make up an organism. Or a chip, among many chips, that make up a computer. Who knows? Again, awesome topic.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve been wondering if there is a self as well. As far as I can tell, there isn’t. But as I told you on your blog, I am struggling a bit with the type of implications that creates, so I’m still working on finding a way to come to peace with that truth.

      Like

  2. Haliaetos' says:

    this was awesome! you took so many of the complex beliefs and thoughts that i have and broke them down into a much simpler, easier to understand explanation. it is always so satisfying to see others on a similar path. thanks for your breakdown of these concepts. :o)

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m definitely still working on pinning some of these ideas down further, but I like this being a work in progress much more than one single way of understanding the complexity of us.

      I’m thinking one day in the not too distant future I may write a short ebook on the subject, but that’s a long way off, as I still have one in the works right now.

      Like

  3. rainec says:

    Thank you so much for sharing and for the enthusiasm, research and passion evidenced in every word. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I voted for Hagelin for President, and it stands to reason that we’re heading down the rabbit hole and might as well be presently aware of it. We could combine the remaining forces by changing the question….instead of gravity’s even existing we could instead see sound wave nodes as being pockets for matter to be pushed to….things aren’t drawn to, they are compressed…frequency patterns could explain materiality, spread analysis, and delete gravity. Using quantum psychology, we could see our awareness as transforming resources right before our eyes…formerly hidden….Blakean awareness of reality. LogoZen

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 334 other followers

Top Posts & Pages

Categories

