The Nature of Home

Leave a comment

August 7, 2015 by The Girl Made of Words

  
My favorite place to be 

Is beneath the shade of a great tree, 

Pondering the inherent complexity 

That composes it’s form

.

Observing the way  

It winds itself up to the heavens above

Reaching out in every direction

For the light that feeds it quite perfectly

.

I love to sit beside a stream

And let it gurgle softly 

As each molecule travels in tandem 

Onto its next destination

.

Forever changing and shaping 

The earth it moves through

In small seemingly insignificant ways

.

All the while containing

An entire microcosm of life

Within its rushing tides 

.

I adore the stillness of a mountainside

As the world below slips away

The hush that fills the air 

Steals the very breath from my lungs

.
As I see through the eyes of majesty

From my perch atop the only true giants of our time

.

But when I am beneath the stars

That’s when my soul feels most at home

Here, inside of the cosmos 
.

Because I am the smallest rendering of all

I am but a grain of sand

Along the shores of our galaxy 

.

I am occupying 

A passing blip of time

Along the endless stream of the universe

.

Home isn’t something that can live inside of four walls

It’s our tiny pin on a map that is ever expanding 
.

Home is a fixed point in time

That feels like dirt beneath your feet

That sounds like the creaking chorus

Of cicada on a summer night
.

It’s air

It’s starlight

.

It’s the ever evolving

Story of life. 

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 334 other followers

Categories

